Congressional Deaf Caucus News

On March 12, 2014 the Congressional Deaf Caucus held a kick-off reception in the House Cannon Office Building. The event was held in conjunction with the 150th anniversary of the founding of Gallaudet University.

Thanks to the 19 schools that sent swag for the event! The tables were overflowing!

deaf caucus reception


     The number of Congressional members in the      Caucus stands at 20 and is quickly growing.

     So far (as of March 20, 2014) these are the      members of the Congressional Deaf Caucus:

     Mark Takano (CA), Co-Chair 

     California School for the Deaf, Riverside 

Kevin Yoder (KS), Co-Chair Kansas School for the Deaf

Kerry Bentivolio (MI)

Tony Cardenas (CA)

Matt Cartwright (PA)

John Delaney (MD) Maryland School for the Deaf

Tim Griffin (AR) Arkansas School for the Deaf

Mike Honda (CA) California School f/t Deaf, Fremont

Jared Huffman (CA)

Hank Johnson (GA) Atlanta Area School for the Deaf

Marcy Kaptur (OH)

John Larson (CT) American School for the Deaf

David Loebsack (IA)

Alan Lowenthal (CA)

Jim McGovern (MA) Clarke School

Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC) Kendall Demonstration Elementary School, Model Secondary School for the Deaf, Gallaudet University

Cathy McMorris Rodgers (WA)

Louise Slaughter (NY), Rochester School for the Deaf, National Technical Institute for the Deaf

Steve Stockman (TX)

John Yarmuth (KY)

What you can do:

1. If you have sent a letter to your House Representative asking him or her to join the Caucus, thank you!  

2. If your Representative is on this list, thank him or her! Click here for a Sample Letter (Thank you for joining the Congressional Deaf Caucus).

3. If your Representative is not on this list, and you have not yet sent a letter, please do so. Click here for a sample letter (Join the Congressional Deaf Caucus).  If your Representative is not on this list and has not yet signed on to co-sponsor H.R. 4040, click here for a sample letter (for both).

Thank you for all you do!


Barbara Raimondo
Government Relations Liaison
Conference of Educational Administrators of Schools and Programs for the Deaf





A big THANK YOU to all the schools  that contributed pictures for the CEASD website!